Tu/Th 5:00–6:20 | section FIVE | intro to graphic design | Renée Stevens

Album Art

Moth Dust

I chose this example of typography because I love music. I thought a piece of album art would be appropriate. As I started to sort through album artwork in my iTunes I found myself frustrated trying to read the type on the majority of items. Many artists try desperately to incorporate their type into the actual illustration on the album and more often than not, it ends up looking messy or so suttle that the viewer doesn’t even notice it. When I looked at this album cover, which mind you, is a cover for an EP from a small unsigned band in Portland, Oregon, I saw success in the use of typography incorporated into the illustration. On this album cover the type is literally part of the illustration, however, it is also very clear what the words say.

I might add that Aaron Robert Miller, the creator of this lovely piece of art, does work full time in Portland as a designer at an old-fashioned printing press called Egg Press. Egg Press produces some awesome typography.

Leave a Reply

