Tu/Th 5:00–6:20 | section FIVE | intro to graphic design | Renée Stevens

Buried in type.

I just want to make stuff. That’s the urge I’m left with each time after sitting down to chip away more at the assigned reading. Perhaps ‘make’ is the wrong word. “Create” may be more apt. That’s right I said it. I said it and I didn’t even say it because that’s the name of the blog, I actually meant it as utterly cliche and sickly sweet as it sounds.

Understanding even the basics of what makes all the words around us come to life is like opening the world up.  Suddenly there are limitless possibilities to aesthetic, texture, feeling….how you communicate to who and why.  What I appreciate most is Lupton’s clarity in explaining the major tools of design in the context of phenomenal examples.  I think the tips on tracking, leading and space and meaning will be supremely helpful as I take on the daunting task of trying to put myself down on paper in the form of a resume and wordmark.

Leave a Reply

