Tu/Th 5:00–6:20 | section FIVE | intro to graphic design | Renée Stevens

Mixing Typefaces

I really enjoyed the section in the reading on mixing typefaces. I have long held a critical eye for such crimes, especially in outdoor advertising. (My dad runs a small sign company.) I found myself laughing an audible chuckle when I saw the photograph of the Government Accountability Office sign. It seems outrageous to me that some place as “professional” as The Government Accountability Office Headquarters cannot even portray their professional image properly on their signage. I also enjoyed the way the content was written in the actual examples of different typefaces, rather than written and then provided examples. I think reading content in the actual typefaces forces the reader to analyze them more.

Leave a Reply

