Tu/Th 5:00–6:20 | section FIVE | intro to graphic design | Renée Stevens

reading response

I always thought that italics were supposed to be slanted. This book proved me wrong. Page 48, Quadraat at the bottom right is an example of a typeface that has upright italics. To be completely honest, I never thought much about typography and the way each character is presented to our eyes. As long as the words were readable, I thought they all looked the same. But I am starting to learn that the little details (such as serifs, curves, the width, and spacing) in each typeface can actually make a pretty big difference in how we perceive the idea behind what the words actually say. This is good because I was completely lost when trying to come up with a wordmark for my resume, or even when deciding what typeface to use. Now I can start looking for a specific typeface by determining what kind of atmosphere I want to present myself in. Thank you Lupton, now I know where to start my project.

Leave a Reply

