Tu/Th 5:00–6:20 | section FIVE | intro to graphic design | Renée Stevens

Reading Response

Before I was introduced to InDesign, I used to always wonder how posters controlled the kerning in their text and how magazines played with text arrangement. For a while, I thought they knew a secret on Microsoft Word that the rest of us did not. I became frustrated when I tried making fliers on Word, for lack of better software, and the gaps with letters such as W and G ruined the flow of text.

When I open our book, I find myself skipping most of the actual reading and just analyzing the sample posters. I read the captions and look in the paragraphs for how I could emulate the styles the book provides. I especially like looking at the magazine covers to see what types editors select for specific stories. In addition to magazine examples, it’s interesting to see the insides of book in a new light. I never thought for once that someone had to think about left alignment vs. justified, or which type to use.

Leave a Reply

