Tu/Th 5:00–6:20 | section FIVE | intro to graphic design | Renée Stevens

Good vs. Bad

You would think that an advertising agency would have a better website, but I absolutely despise Digitas’ landing page.  The whole first page is in Flash. The icons react to your mouse and some just move on their own but there’s no way to tell what the icons will link you to until you click it.

I recall looking for internship listings/opportunities at Digitas and I could not find it unless I Googled “Digitas summer internship.” I found it eventually and I have never accessed it without the direct url I got off Google.

As for a website design I do like, here is Boston University’s homepage.

I used to be obsessed with BU. Part of the reason why I was so interested was because BU made their website easy to navigate and browse, so I kept finding more and more things to like about the school. Because I used to visit their site a lot, I know the current website looks vastly different from the one they had two years ago. First off, the grid alignment is much cleaner now, and incorporates more images to capture attention. You could even say this follows current website trends because it looks very modern, from the typefaces to the image selection. Unlike most schools, BU did not put the typical shots of campus scenery or students engaging with instructors. And by utilizing a bar that goes across and boxes whose subjects run straight across the page, any visitor will know where to click without scrolling or searching too much.

Disclaimer: This does not mean I like BU over SU.

Leave a Reply

