Tu/Th 5:00–6:20 | section FIVE | intro to graphic design | Renée Stevens

Wrap Up Blog

This semester in graphics I gained an appreciation of how much time and effort goes into things, like business cards or posters, that I normally take for granted. I began to notice and critique designs all around me, and think of ways they could be improved. I also gained a whole new appreciation for different typefaces. Since taking this semester of graphics I read into what different typefaces mean more, and think about the messages that their use is sending. I often find that poor design uses typefaces that conflict with the message that the design is trying to send. My favorite projects were the resume project because it will be useful in the future and the poster project because I thought it was the first project that was really creative. I thought that the magazine project was the most difficult project that we did, which gave me a whole new appreciation for magazines, since they contain so many spreads and we only had to do two.

Leave a Reply

